Franchitti Wins Indy 500

May 27, 2012

Dario Franchitti has won the 2012 Indianapolis 500.

Franchitti became the 10th driver in the 96 years of Indianapolis to win three or more 500s, picking up his third on Sunday by winning a last-lap trophy dash with Takuma Sato to the checkered flag. Sato tried to pass for the lead going into the first turn, pulled even with Franchitti, then spun hard into the wall after their wheels appeared to make contact.

Scott Dixon finished second in the Memorial Day Weekend classic, and Tony Kanaan finished third.

© 2012 TruthNews. All Rights Reserved.